New Book Cover

Lately, If I sit for just a few minutes without doing something I go nuts. Seriously, I wake up in the middle of the night thinking of things to do. I just can’t stand being idle. Years ago, I was too busy working tons of hours to sleep. After retirement I began napping the day away. Now, thanks to self-publishing,  I don’t want to sleep at all. I am learning new things, like how to bring a children’s book to life.  I’m thankful for self-publishing for giving myself the opportunity. It is nearly impossible to catch the eye of a children’s book publisher. With self-publishing I can put the book out there and let others decide if they want to read it. Am I going to make much money doing this? Probably not, but we are leaving something behind for our children and grandchildren that we created. That makes me feel pretty good.

Self-publishing makes it easy to change things. Yesterday I decided to build a new cover with the Createspace cover builder. I think the cover turned out pretty good considering I don’t have an artistic bone in my body. I used the same illustration as before, only now I have a nice book cover, including a framed picture in front and short book synopsis on back.  Previously, with the exception of the bar code,  the back cover was bare. I made small stickers with information about our website and where to purchase the book to place on the back cover so there was something to look at. Now, I think it looks pretty decent. Please check out the cover on the contact page of our website here http://www.dcrushbooks.com/contact.html

I plan to change the cover color for each new children’s book we publish. The first cover is Teal, the second will be Royal Blue then Maroon. I can’t wait until we can publish the second book and that will be very soon, I’m just waiting for the illustration.

It is very nice to have something to keep myself preoccupied. There is so much to do and many things to learn. I can’t wait to wake up in the morning and that feels nice.

 

 

 

 

About D.C. Rush Books Family Values - Lessons for Life

Don and Cathy Rush, Authors and Publishers of D.C. Rush Books. We currently have six books, Robby's Quest for Seed, Robby's Quest: Ocean Bound, Robby's Quest: Return of the Cat, Robby's Quest: Thrills and Chills, Hershey Learns a Lesson, and Adventures of Sammy the Dalmatian and Friends, available on eBook, Paperback and Audio Book. Visit our website at www.dcrushbooks.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

